Green Cheap Wedding

Just another WordPress.com site

The Vision October 20, 2010

I have a general idea of what I want my wedding to look like.  I want one of the pastors from my church to officiate it, for example.  I’d like it to be very bright, cheery, and colorful (I went to Home Depot and snagged some paint chips in the colors I want, they’re called Pumpkin Patch, Red Carnation, and Sunflower, with an accent color called Cool Cobalt).  I want to do things with as little environmental impact as possible.  I want to serve Mexican food, and I want to just serve beer, wine and a signature drink (margaritas) for alcohol.  I want to make my own cheese to serve before the meal with other snack/appetizers.  I’d like it to be a little casual, fun, and unique.

Apparently everyone wants unique.

Which, as I’m coming to understand it, is the driving force behind the wedding industry, which, the more I read, the more I dislike.  But oh, the draw is irresistable.  I’ve only been engaged a few days now, and already I’ve gone back and forth between being excited at the prospect of spending several thousand dollars on a single day, and being horrified.  There is a chunk of me that just wants to buy a pretty dress and elope.

But I’m not going to do that.  For one thing, there’s this other chunk of me that does want to be a princess for a day (even if it’s not a super traditional princess).  I love weddings, they’re so much fun (except for those rare occasions in which you don’t approve of the wedding, in which case, at least they’re ironically humorous).  Why not throw one of my own?  Secondly, I really do want to share this with my family and friends.  They have done so much for me in my life (especially helping me to grow as a single mother), the least I can do in return is buy them a meal, a few drinks, and give them a place to dance and socialize for a few hours.

I just don’t want to spend $10,000.

So this has got me thinking about what’s really important to me when it comes to throwing this party, and what’s not.  When it comes down to it, if guests could only say one thing when they leave my wedding, I would rather it be “I had a blast at that wedding” than “That was a beautiful wedding”.  I don’t want to spend hundreds of dollars on details that the guests probably won’t notice and won’t do anything to contribute to the amount of fun they have in the end.  I want to keep it simple, and cheap, and low impact.  How exactly I’m going to do that is still a mystery to me, but as I work it out, I will share what I discover with you.

 

Leave a Reply

